Presidential Search Moves Forward

Posted on: November 15, 2010

Tennessee Wesleyan College plans to have its 21st president in place in time for the start of the 2011-2012 academic year.

A search committee for TWC's next president – consisting of members of the college's Board of Trustees, faculty, staff and student body, as well as members of the Athens community –recently set a timeline for the selection process after officially opening the call for candidates.

"For over 150 years, Tennessee Wesleyan College has maintained a tradition of providing and fostering an academic community that prepares students for the challenges of an ever-changing global community while also remaining committed to the needs of the local community. Our next president must be able to not only continue that tradition, but advance it," said Joel Riley, chairman of TWC's presidential search committee. "Our next leader must be a person of energy and integrity with a diplomatic management style and pro-student approach – all necessary traits for the good of this school and the community."

Resumes will be accepted through February 17, 2011. Following that date, the committee will evaluate the candidates, weighing them against the needs of the school and community. The top five candidates will be interviewed by the committee in early March. That pool will then be narrowed to three finalists who will be brought to campus for a series of interviews and meetings with members of both the TWC and Athens communities.

The selection of Tennessee Wesleyan's next president is expected to take place in late April.

The position became available following the resignation of former president Dr. Steve Condon earlier this year.

Long-time TWC administrator, faculty member and coach Stan Harrison is currently serving as the college's interim president. A highly respected member of the Athens community, Harrison most recently served as vice president of enrollment services, overseeing two consecutive years of record-setting student enrollment in 2008 and 2009.